top of page

A vegan's guide to Bangkok

Updated: Sep 19, 2019

This was my first time traveling since transitioning to mostly vegan-eating. And I have to say that if you are vegan/vegetarian, Thailand is the place for you. They grow so much rice and fresh fruit and veg and it was all delicious. They certainly do love their meat but vegan food is never hard to find (except maybe at markets).


I did a ton of research before going to Thailand but the app Happy Cow never failed to help us out. So, even if you're in a pinch, you can always count on Happy Cow or a local vendor selling fresh fruit.



We did not spend a lot of time in each city but we did manage to find two, delicious all-vegan restaurants in Bangkok. The first was the top floor of a little hotel and the food was still Thai food. That was a struggle for me, I wanted to eat vegan as much as possible but I still wanted to try the local cuisine. Luckily we found a place that served pad Thai, tom yam soup, red curry, and more.



At Tasty Vegetarian (although I did not notice any other animal products) I got the tom yam soup and a pineapple juice and Dan got pineapple fried rice and watermelon juice. We shared some vegan gyoza as well which I was super excited about. Gyoza was quickly one of my favorite dishes once we moved to Asia but it traditionally is a pork dumpling so I was thrilled to see it veganized here.



My only critique with the whole meal was that the tom yam soup was very heavy on the cilantro which I was not a fan of. It was still edible but I would try something else if we went back. Everything else was absolutely delicious.



Our next stop the next day was a little place called Mango Vegetarian & Vegan. (I just found out it is permanently closed *cries*! But, I am still going to talk about it, because it was some of the best food I have ever had!)


It was very close to our hotel on Khao San Rd and had a huge selection! Their menu was color coded or vegan and vegetarian dishes. The only things that were not vegan were the eggs for breakfast. They had western and Asian options so of course I had to get Thai food.


Thai Red Curry

They also had smoothie bowls, desserts, kombucha, juices, and more! The menu is so vast that you could eat there every day for 100 days and probably still not order the same thing twice.


Pad Thai

This restaurant knocked it out of the park for me. I got the Thai red curry which came with tempeh and it was my first time trying it but I loved it and I want to find it here. I also got the mango-pineapple kombucha which was a little strong for my taste but still very good.



Dan got the pad Thai and even though he is not vegan he really enjoyed it. Then, we shared this gigantic smoothie bowl topped with nuts and fresh fruit. I think this was my favorite meal of the whole trip.



We even managed to find vegetarian food at the airport when we had a few hours to kill there. It is back in this food court area and I got veggie pad Thai.



On our last leg of our journey, we flew back to Bangkok from Chiang Mai and Thai airlines even let us pick our mid-flight snack! We picked the seasonal fruit tray so we even got to eat vegan on the plane, how cool!



Our last night in Bangkok we were not that hungry. We just enjoyed this gigantic watermelon slushie and a strawberry lemonade.



Some other vegan places I really wanted to try to go to in Bangkok are:


Broccoli Revolution

Bonita Cafe and Social Club

Veganerie Concept (a vegan bakery!!! And they have multiple locations)

May Veggie Home

Supanniga Eating Room

Salada Organic Kitchen

Seven Spoons


I hope that this little guide helps you find delicious and easily accessible vegan food while you are traveling. When in doubt, use Happy Cow (it's only $4 and it a life saver). Happy travels and happy eating!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
IMG_0254.jpg

Emma

Dendler

Hey there! Thanks for stopping by! 

My name is Emma. I am a 20-year-old new to this sustainable lifestyle. I am here to give you my tips as I learn them and help beginners begin their sustainable life...

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME ON 

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
IMG_9992.JPG
Check out my YouTube channel
bottom of page