top of page

The EASIEST Seitan Vegan Chicken Patties (How to Make Vegan Meat at Home!)

Today, I bring to you something out of the ordinary, the easiest seitan recipe EVER! I've tried recipe after recipe and after much frustration, I developed my own super easy vegan chicken recipe that I just had to share with you.



We enjoy them as patties, pan fried and on sandwiches and salads, but this mock meat recipe can be enjoyed in a plethora of ways. You can leave it as a full vegan turkey roast, turn them into vegan chicken nuggets, and so much more! Let's cut to the chase and just dive in.



Ingredients:

- 3/4 cup chickpeas (save the liquid!)

- 1 tsp salt

- 1/2 tsp pepper

- 1/2 paprika

- 1/2 turmeric

- 1/2 onion powder

- 1/2 garlic powder

- 1/2 thyme (or poultry seasoning)

- 1 tsp mustard

- 1 tsp soy sauce (or tamari or coconut aminos)

- 1 tsp steak sauce (or other vegan meaty flavored sauce)

- 3/4 chickpea water (or regular water)

- 1 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten



Directions

  1. Drain the chickpeas and set the liquid to the side to save for late

  2. Combine the chickpeas, spices, mustard, soy sauce, and steak sauce in a medium bowl and mash with a fork or potato masher

  3. Add the chickpea water and mix with a spoon to make a liquid batter

  4. Starting with 1/2 cup, start adding the wheat gluten and mix with a spoon. Add another half cup, mix. Add the final 1/4 cup, and mix to combine.

  5. Dump the mixture onto a surface and knead for a few minutes adding more wheat gluten if it becomes sticky. The longer you knead, the tougher the "meat" will become, so knead as long as you would like!

  6. At this point, you can leave the seitan as a loaf/roast or you can divide it. I prefer to divide it into 6 and flatten them into patties. No matter your choice, you need to wrap your raw seitan in aluminum foil.

  7. Place the seitan on a rack in a pot to steam (or a basket) for at least 20-30 minutes but up to 1-2 hours. Again, the longer you steam, the tougher it becomes, so leave this up to your preference. I usually do about an hour.

  8. At this point, it's cooked and ready to eat! But, you can take it a step further. You can bread and bake it or fry it. I pan fry it in a little oil and eat it on a sandwich bun



Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoy this recipe :)


Emma

58 views0 comments
IMG_0254.jpg

Emma

Dendler

Hey there! Thanks for stopping by! 

My name is Emma. I am a 20-year-old new to this sustainable lifestyle. I am here to give you my tips as I learn them and help beginners begin their sustainable life...

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME ON 

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
IMG_9992.JPG
Check out my YouTube channel
bottom of page